First Signs

stop-sign-1444007-1920x1280Just like you, I get attacked by the evil one all the time. How do I respond? I recognize it as an attack and tell it to go.

The first premise at play here, is that I believe all sickness and disease is an attack from Satan and his demons. I believe that God is good and does not attack His beloved children.

Jesus said in John 10:10, “The thief does not come expect to steal, to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.”

By understanding this, when something attacks me, I operate within my authority in Christ to command it to go. And since Christ defeated Satan on the cross, Satan has to obey when I command him in Jesus’ name.

I remember walking down the hall at work not too long ago, and a sharp pain in my knee came out of nowhere – stopping me in my tracks.

Realizing that I hadn’t done anything to cause this pain, I paused, put my hand on my knee and said under my breath, “In Jesus’ name, pain I rebuke you as a lie and command you to go. There is nothing wrong with knee.”

As fast as the pain came, it left and never came back. Had I embraced the pain as real, it would have stuck around. If I ran to the doctor for treatment of this pain, I would have received treatment as if I had sustained an injury and still be dealing with knee pain in my life today.

Tooth pain is another way the enemy tries to sneak into my life. On any random day, a pain pops into my mouth. The normal response is to assume the worst – a cavity! But just like in the example above, I don’t accept the pain as real. Rather I put my hand on my mouth and say “In Jesus’ name, pain I rebuke you as a lie and command you to go. There is nothing wrong with my tooth.” And the pain goes.

The attacks I send away are pretty constant and never ending – headaches, back pain, random pinches, pokes and strains that come out of nowhere. But there is another way!

In first Peter, Satan is described as a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour (1 Peter 5:8). A lion’s roar can be scary, and we believe the ferocity of the pending attack.

However, we are instructed to “Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.” (Ephesians 6:11 NKJV).

You may not be familiar with the word “wiles” which means tricks, schemes, or deceptions. So Satan is going about roaring to scare us, but it is a lie!

If we recognize the attack as a lie, a scheme, a trick – we can stand on the promises that if we “resist the devil, he will flee” (James 4:7 NKJV).

Sometimes I see a friend or co-worker feel an attack come on, and immediately rationalize why it makes sense that it happened. The most frustrating excuse is genetics. Because a parent suffered an affliction, the child assumes it is their fate as well. I now understand that if a demon can get away with attacking a parent successfully, they will go after the children because they will believe it is their genetic obligation to bear the same attack.

When we experience Satan’s initial lie, scheme, or trick, and accept it as a real injury or affliction, we lay down our authority in Christ and let Satan in.

The Bible promises…God’s will for you is good, and pleasing, and perfect. Don’t let Satan convince you otherwise!

Leave a Reply

