Divine Appointments

time-1425620

I still remember the day I heard from my friend Gail that her daughter’s doctor proclaimed her as healed! A 5mm cyst that threatened removal of her ovaries is completely gone. What does that have to do with me? About two months earlier, I had run into Gail in the middle of Oklahoma, after not seeing her for 20 years.

Driving back to Texas after a healing conference in Missouri took me and my parents through Oklahoma for several hours of this 400-mile journey. Knowing we would need dinner, we decided on Durant as a good stopping point. After my handy iPhone produced the list of 40 or 50 restaurants in Durant, we decided we were in the mood for Tex-Mex. It was a random pick, but we navigate to Salitas.

I certainly didn’t expect to see a friendly face greet us at the door, but there was Gail, a friend from high school, working at the hostess stand. It was instant recognition, followed by instant connection.

After a few moments of catching up, Gail guided us to our table. She stopped by toward the end of our meal and eventually shared how worried she was about her 18-year-old daughter. The doctors had found a cyst on her daughter’s ovary, and it was not a good sign; they were considering removing her ovary. I didn’t jump out of my seat right away, but moments later I couldn’t contain the words, the prayer bubbling up in my mind–it had to come out.

At the front of the restaurant, I approached Gail and asked if I could prayer for her daughter. I had Gail place her hands on her own ovaries, and placed my hands on hers. We both agreed to focus on her daughter as I prayed.

I began my prayer just like I was taught: first command the spirit of infirmity to go, and then order her ovaries to be healed and whole. Without a thought, the next words that spilled out of my mouth surprised me. My prayer reclaimed her future according to God’s will for her life, that Satan could not steal her daughter’s future children. It is obvious looking back, that was the prayer God needed spoken over her life, as the dark one is a thief.

Gail and I parted ways as re-found friends and agreed to stay in touch. And since I started with the end, you know the rest. We don’t always know the outcome of our healing prayers. God asks us to be obedient, to offer prayers to those in need, but we don’t always get to feel the amazing joy of celebrating when they are so beautifully answered.

I praise God that my Lord can land me in the exact restaurant over 80 miles from home, to answer someone’s desperate prayer. It is exciting and amazing to be used by God, to see the power he has entrusted us with come to life.

“The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.”  John 10:10 NKJV

Leave a Reply

